Nobody writes the literature for a pride, it borns from the character, also it satisfies the needs of nation...
Akhmet Baitursynuly
Dorothy M. Richardson

Dorothy M. Richardson

Dorothy M. Richardson


Dorothy M. Richardson, in full Dorothy Miller Richardson, married name Dorothy Odle, (born May 17, 1873, Abingdon, Berkshire, Eng.—died June 17, 1957, Beckenham, Kent), English novelist, an often neglected pioneer in stream-of-consciousness fiction.


Richardson passed her childhood and youth in secluded surroundings in late Victorian England. After her schooling, which ended when, in her 17th year, her parents separated, she engaged in teaching, clerical work, and journalism.


In 1917 she married the artist Alan Elsden Odle. She commands attention for her ambitious sequence novel Pilgrimage (published in separate volumes—she preferred to call them chapters—as 


Pointed Roofs, 1915; 

Backwater, 1916; 

Honeycomb, 1917; 

The Tunnel, 1919;

Interim, 1919; 

Deadlock, 1921;

Revolving Lights, 1923; 

The Trap, 1925; 

Oberland, 1927; 

Dawn’s Left Hand, 1931; 

Clear Horizon, 1935;

the last part, Dimple Hill, appeared under the collective title, four volumes, 1938).



Pilgrimage is an extraordinarily sensitive story, seen cinematically through the eyes of Miriam Henderson, an attractive and mystical New Woman. Although the length of the work and the intense demand it makes on the reader have kept it from general popularity, it is a significant novel of the 20th century, not least for its attempt to find new formal means by which to represent feminine consciousness.